DATE: Sunday, June 1, 2008
TIME: 7:00 PM-8:30 PM
VENUE: Miller Theatre
PARTICIPANTS: Alan Alda, Mia Barron, Kate Burton, Anthony LaPaglia, Daniel Sullivan

This new play by Alan Alda delves into the treasure trove of letters written by Albert Einstein, his wives and his friends, tracing an intimate and unfamiliar line across his life and work. Directed by Tony award-winning director Daniel Sullivan and featuring Tony-award winning actor Anthony LaPaglia, who was joined on stage by Kate Burton and Mia Barron, Dear Albert humanizes a giant in the pantheon of great scientists and sheds light upon his momentous scientific insights through first-hand accounts of ground-breaking discoveries.

Presented as a reading, this compelling new work painted a vivid portrait of one of the greatest figures in science.

  • Share This:


Alan Alda
Actor, Author, Director

Alan Alda, a seven-time Emmy® Award winner, played Hawkeye Pierce and wrote many of the episodes on the classic TV series M*A*S*H, and appeared in continuing roles on ER, The West Wing, 30 Rock, and The Blacklist. He has starred in, written, and directed many films, and was nominated for an Academy Award for his role in The Aviator. His interest in science led to his hosting the award-winning PBS series Scientific American Frontiers for 11 years, on which he interviewed hundreds of scientists. Also on PBS, he hosted The Human Spark, winning the 2010 Kavli Science Journalism Award, and Brains on Trial in 2013. On Broadway, he appeared as the physicist Richard Feynman in the play QED. He is the author of the play Radiance: The Passion of Marie Curie. He has won the National Science Board’s™ Public Service Award, the Scientific American Lifetime Achievement Award, and the American Chemical Society Award for Public Service, among others. He is a Visiting Professor at Stony Brook University’s Alan Alda Center for Communicating Science.

Mia Barron

Mia Barron is a theater, film and television actress. Her stage credits include Springtime for Henry and Heartbreak House, She Stoops to Comedy and Hedda Gabler. She appeared in 27 Dresses with Katherine Heigl and also has a recurring role as the voice of Molotov in the cartoon network’s The Venture Brothers.


Kate Burton is a Tony and Emmy Award-nominated actress. Currently on Broadway in the hit musical Spring Awakening, her other stage and screen credits include Hedda Gabler, The Elephant Man, The First Wives Club and The Ice Storm. Her television work includes recurring roles on The West Wing and Grey’s Anatomy.


Anthony LaPaglia is the Tony, Emmy and Golden Globe-winning actor currently starring as FBI Missing Persons investigator Jack Malone in CBS’s popular television crime drama, Without a Trace. LaPaglia has appeared in a number of films, including Summer of Sam, Sweet and Lowdown, The House of Mirth, and Lantana. He also starred alongside Sigourney Weaver in The Guys, a film inspired by the heroism of New York City firefighters during the 2001 attacks on the World Trade Center. On television, LaPaglia’s role on the popular sitcom Frasier earned him an Emmy Award. He has returned often to the New York stage. He received raves for his performance opposite Mercedes Ruehl in the Broadway revival of Tennessee Williams’ The Rose Tattoo and was back on Broadway in a revival of Arthur Miller’s A View From the Bridge, for which he won a Tony Award.


Daniel Sullivan is one of New York’s most prolific directors. He most recently directed the Broadway revival of The Homecoming. He has been nominated for six Tony Awards for Direction of a Play, and won for David Auburn’s Proof in 2001.

His other Broadway credits include Prelude to a Kiss, Rabbit Hole, Julius Caesar (with Denzel Washington), Brooklyn Boy, Sight Unseen, Morning’s at Seven, Major Barbara, A Moon for the Misbegotten, Ah, Wilderness!, An American Daughter, The Sisters Rosensweig, Conversations With My Father, The Heidi Chronicles and I’m Not Rappaport.

Sullivan served for sixteen years as Artistic Director of Seattle Repertory Theatre, where he directed over 60 plays and launched their New Play Program, developing new works by Jon Robin Baitz, A.R. Gurney, Arthur Miller, Wendy Wasserstein and Charlayne Woodard.