FacebookTwitterYoutubeInstagramGoogle Plus

Ewine van Dishoeck

molecular astrophysicist

Ewine van Dishoeck is Professor of molecular astrophysics at the Leiden Observatory in the Netherlands. She is co-editor of the Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics, and was president of the International Astronomical Union between 2018 and 2021. In 2018 she was awarded the Kavli Prize in Astrophysics for her pioneering work in the field of astrochemistry. She was instrumental in the development of the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array in Chile, and has been involved with the development of the James Webb Space Telescope for decades, serving on the scientific advisory board that helped determine which types of instruments the telescope would carry. She also played a pivotal role in the development of MIRI, one of the telescope’s four key scientific instruments.

Past Programs Featuring Ewine van Dishoeck