FacebookTwitterYoutubeInstagramGoogle Plus

The Kavli Prize Announcement

Thursday, May 31, 2018 | 8:00 AM – 10:00 AM (Invite Only)

Tune in here to watch the KAVLI PRIZE Announcement Live.
Click below to set your reminder.

— Registration & Breakfast: 8:00AM
— Keynote Address by Dr. Shirley Ann Jackson: 8:30AM
— Announcement of the 2018 Kavli Prizes: 9:00AM

2018 marks the tenth anniversary of the prestigious Kavli Prize, which recognizes scientists for major advances in three research areas: astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience—the big, the small, and the complex. The 2018 winners, sharing a cash award of $1 million in each field, will be announced via live satellite from the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in Oslo. Delivering the keynote address at this year’s Kavli Prize breakfast, is the Honorable Shirley Ann Jackson, Ph.D., president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Following the announcement of the winners, Brian Greene will sit down with renowned scientists in the fields of neuroscience, nanoscience, and astrophysics, Laura GreeneIrwin Shapiro, and Leslie Vosshall to discuss the scientific achievements of the Kavli Laureates and provide insights into the next wave of research and opportunities within these dynamic fields.

The Kavli Prize recognizes scientists for their seminal advances in astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience and is sponsored by The Kavli Foundation and The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

Brilliant Breakthroughs/Kavli Countdown Video Series

We’re commemorating the Kavli Prize’s 10th anniversary with our new mini-series Brilliant Breakthroughs, celebrating the groundbreaking achievements of the Kavli Prize winners from the last decade and counting down to the 2018 Kavli Prize award ceremony. Join us as we explore the proud accomplishments of the greatest scientific minds of our time.