FacebookTwitterYoutubeInstagramGoogle Plus

Winners of the prestigious 2010 Kavli Prizes—biennial international awards that recognize seminal advances in astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience, and include a cash prize of $1 million in each field— were announced via live satellite from the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, in Oslo. Nobel Laureate Harold Varmus, Co-Chair of President Obama’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology, delivered the keynote address to open the event. Following the announcement of the winners, a panel of internationally renowned scientists, including Antonio Damasio and Mostafa A. El-Sayed, discussed the scientific achievements of the 2010 Kavli laureates and provided insightful commentary on the next wave of research and opportunities being pursued in these dynamic fields.

View Additional Video Information


Elizabeth VargasABC News Anchor

Award-winning anchor and correspondent Elizabeth Vargas has covered breaking news stories, reported in-depth investigations and conducted newsmaker interviews around the world since joining ABC News. During the historic Iraqi elections in 2005, she anchored the network’s “World News” from Baghdad.

Read More


Harold VarmusNobel Laureate, Oncologist

Harold Varmus, M.D., co-recipient of the Nobel Prize for studies of the genetic basis of cancer, joined the Meyer Cancer Center of Weill Cornell Medicine as the Lewis Thomas University Professor of Medicine on April 1, 2015.

Read More
Mostafa A. El-SayedNanoscience Researcher

Mostafa A. El-Sayed is an internationally renowned nanoscience researcher whose work in the synthesis and study of the properties of nanomaterials of different shape may have applications in the treatment of cancer.

Read More
Antonio DamasioNeuroscientist

Antonio Damasio is one of the world’s leading neurologists and neuroscientists and has made seminal contributions to the understanding of how the brain processes emotion, decision, and consciousness.

Read More
Kip S. ThorneTheoretical Physicist

Kip Thorne is the Feynman Professor of Theoretical Physics, Emeritus, at Caltech. He was the co-founder (with Rai Weiss and Ron Drever) of the LIGO (Laser Interferometer Gravitational Wave Observatory) Project and he chaired the steering committee that led LIGO in its earliest years.

Read More


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


View More Comments
Load More